Join now - be part of our community!

"3 year on-site next business day": a sad joke by Sony in The Netherlands

Mihaita
Visitor

"3 year on-site next business day": a sad joke by Sony in The Netherlands

Hello,

I tell you how "next-business day" is >6weeks at SONY-Netherlands ...

I'm a researcher at University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands, and I recently got into a kind of stupid game about "repairing" my VAIO-SZ4 laptop, though I do have the 3years on-site (expesive) guarantee pack in addition to one of the best professional (exensive) laptop from Sony. I write the followings for whom is interested to read my story, that I say it became sad because I could not use my laptop for 6 weeks and is still not ready despite the fact that I always trusted the japanese work and never thought that I will be dissapointed so much that I'll never buy a SONY. Here it is:

In the end of November 2008, I started to hear a strange noise from the laptop's FAN. My room-mate, at Amsterdam, warned me that I should fix the FAN problem asap.
So, I called (for the first time) SONY on-site service on 2nd December 2008. After I explained the problem, I was told that the next day, someone will contact me. Fine, I put my laptop aside, and tried to get my work done on the office desktop for the next couple of days.

Well, every day during the first week of my claim (2-5Dec), I received a call in the evening from SONY-service department, asking me if the problem was fixed!!! Unfortunately, nobody called me to ask me for an appointment! :slight_frown:

However, at the end of next week I was called and told that someone might come and fix my FAN (from the dutch service company HarXXXX). Therefore, I had the repair-man looking at my laptop after about 1.5 weeks. No problem, I said, it might happen even at big companies like SONY. So, I was happy to have the guy fixing my laptop on Friday 12Dec.